Wazhat! Wahzat!

A game of waiting.

1 Comment

Today on a whim I picked up the phone and called my grandmother.

Not knowing if she would know who was on the other line or if she would care to talk on the phone.

It was a short call

I said to her I love you Grannie

and between laboured breaths my grandmother- my grannie said to me:

I love you the most!

My heart broke.

It is hard knowing that the time is almost near.

It is even harder when you realise that we are in essence waiting for her to pass.

I am so selfish though that I want her to live forever. But her organs are failing and seeing that she is going to be 94 in 2 weeks they (the doctors) are not able to do anything other than wait.

So even though I keep insisting that she will wait until after her birthday if she is indeed going, each time a phone rings or my phone ping I fret that it is some one saying those words that I am not nor will ever be ready to hear.

Sigh

I am glad I called because I got to hear her say she loved me.

 

 

 

Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

One thought on “A game of waiting.

  1. I know what you are going through and hurt for you, G.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.