Wazhat! Wahzat!

Where I come from

2 Comments

I made the strangest observation about my self recently.

Well okay not so strange but it was interesting to me when I pondered on it.

I was thinking about what my life would be like if I was in the Elizabethan era. I was envisioning a life of a scullery maid or such because I am black, but then it hit me I would not have existed in the Elizabethan era whether as a scullery maid or royalty simply because I am so ridiculously mixed. In Trinidad talk you would call me a callallo. ( Callallo is a thick green soup made out of dasheen leaves, okra, sometimes pumpkin, peppers, pigtail and coconut milk. It is thoroughly blended and looks abit mish and mash)

Swizzled2callalloo

My ancestry looks like this:

Father side:

Indian: My Great  grandfather came over with his father from Madras, India (apparently they are very dark in that region) to Trinidad on a boat with indentured servants but they are adamant that they were not servants but Catholic missionaries. Ok! I believe he got married to an East Indian already in Trinidad

Arawak/Carib/ Spanish: My Greatgrandmother was Carib /Arawak mix (Amerindian) and my grandfather was Spanish brown I believe.

Mother side:

Scottish/ Venezuela: My Great Grandfather was from Scotland he lived in Venezuela and he got married to a dark Senorita (she must have had African in her lineage maybe)

Chinese/ African : My Great Grandmother was Chinese and My Great Grandfather was of African descent, not sure if they were married.

I am very much of the world LOL

So yeah there would be no me in the Elizabethan period.

Just me thinking aloud.

 

Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Where I come from

  1. We all came from Adam and Eve. God loves us…each and every one!

  2. Hi there! I’m Heather and I was hoping you could answer my quick question about your blog! If you could email me at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com that would be great :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.