Wazhat! Wahzat!

My most favorite word

9 Comments

Never take for granted the gift of speech. All of us who have words are blessed. We can communicate to others our pain, our hunger, our distress, our joy and our gratitude.
 
My favourite word is Mummy! I will not get tired of hearing it. Mummy!
My children don’t say it enough. And at one point they didn’t say it at all. I think I cried the first time my son coyly called to me as Mummy. You see my son has had delays in his speech and as such is only just getting accustom to words. He called me Daddy for way too long and my daughter being the rebel that she is decided to follow in her beloved brother’s footstep. Apparently Daddy or Dada is easier to say than Mummy. So for the longest while I answered to Daddy too. And then one day it clicked. And I was Mummy! Yeah.
 
So even though I feel despair because he lost a tooth and I didn’t even know it was loose. ( I am sure he didn’t know the words to tell me) Much less if he spit it out or swallowed it. I wouldn’t give into the despair because tonight he said I love you Mummy
 
Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

9 thoughts on “My most favorite word

  1. Aww…that is wonderful! I\’m sure that makes you so proud! 🙂

  2. That is really sweet.  I don\’t have any kids but I know they always bring special joy into any life. Thanks for your prayers – they mean a whole lot.

  3. Awwww how sweet!
    Have a great weekend!
    God bless : )

  4. AWWWW! I can\’t wait till I hear that from my baby!

  5. cute…
    😀

  6. I cannot wait to hear my daughter\’s first utterance of "mommy"…so far she is big on the "da" sound. 

  7. Hey you.
     
    Wow its hot here, 70f lol.
    A wonderful entry about such a simple word. Glad you never took it for granted : ).
     
    THanks for the comments. Sorry I keep making you cry lol. It was never my intention when I wrote those entries.  It was just a release for me so to speak. However can only smile when you say you dont regret giving up the design job. Me neither, wish I had done it years ago.  Hindsight, a wonderful gift.
    Hope you and your family are having a great weekend.
     
    Hugs
     
    Yellow

  8. Very cute…That\’s my favourite word too!
     
    V
     
    PS: Is it ok if I add you to the list of the bloggers I visit? I have to look at old comments if I want to visit you 😉
     
     

  9. Thanks for stopping by and offering a comment!  I\’m glad you did and hope you will be back again.
     
    I\’m an occupational therapy assistant who specializes in oral motor/speaking delays!  Please don\’t worry too much about not noticing your son\’s loose tooth.  Believe it or not, a child that is delayed in speech may not realize their teeth are loose as they may have limited sensation in their mouths .. (some times a reason why they are delayed ..)  I have no doubt if he had been crying and showing it hurt you would have been right there comforting and helpig him out! 
     
    And .. dada is SO much easier to say then mama or mommy..  LOL I have several moms who have gone through the same thing and answer to dada ..  but you are so right .. when you hear those words for the first time ..  there is nothing like it!
     
    a great story – and so nice to remind us all how much we have to be thankful for!
     
    hugs,
    Molly
    PS  sooooo sorrrrryyyyy for the long comment.
     

Leave a Reply

