Wazhat! Wahzat!

Festival of Lights

6 Comments

One of my most favorite holidays after Christmas is the Hindu celebration – Divali (pronounced Diwali or Deewali)
 
It was celebrated this Saturday.
 
I don’t know the significance or the why because I am not Hindu and my ancestors weren’t Hindu at least I don’t think they were.
My father’s family is originally from Madras, India and they came to Trinidad as missionaries to preach Catholism.  What I do know is that Divali falls on a night that is supposed to be the darkest night of the year and many little lights in deyas are light to help one of the Hindu gods find his way to where I can’t remember! (deyas are tiny clay pots)
Very cool! And of course being a celebration! The food, specifically the curry is also something I would look forward to.
 
I loved as a child to be driven through the areas light with deyas. They were always displayed in such elaborate designs and because it was indeed rather dark, alot of the times the lite deyas would appear to be floating in the dark. As I got older I would make out the thin slips of bamboo bent to achieve these marvels.
 
But to me being Catholic, Divali was not only beautiful, but it also meant that Christmas was right around the corner! And I love Christmas!!
 
 
Oh by the way today Trinidad and Tobago along with the Muslim population celebrates Eid Ul Fitr…ending 40 days of Ramadan (fasting and prayer) quite similar to lent. So as my father would say Eid Mubarak.
 
(And no Trinidad and Tobago is not a Muslim country we just have a healthy respect for all of our people and their religions of which there are many. The country of Trinidad and Tobago people are 40% black , 40% indian, and 20% other. The other being chinese, white, syrian etc.)
Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Festival of Lights

  1. Thank you for the congratulations. Being featured by MSN\’s "What\’s Your Story"   was like receiving an unexpected gift – a bit too early for Christmas though, and too late for my birthday.LOL. . . but still a wonderful gift, one that I shall cherish forever.
    An added blessing, I found to being featured is that I get to meet many other MSN spacers who come to leave their notes of congratulations.  I am very glad to meet you. 
    This entry about the festival of lights is very timely and informative.  I enjoy learning about other people\’s celebrations, traditions and culture.  Keep up the good work.
    Hugs, Marie

  2. The festival sounds lovely.  I would enjoy the lights.

  3. Girl, you know here in the US we hardly ever know of holidays that we traditionally celebrate back home.  If I didn\’t go to Brooklyn last weekend I would not have known that it was Divali and Eid.  These holidays are not recognized here, so they become insignificant unless you are of that particular religion. 

  4. THIS FESTIVAL SOUNDS EXCITING AND I CAN IMAGINE
    ALL THE LIGHTS ARE BEAUTIFUL. I DO KNOW VERY MUCH ABOUT DIFFERANT CULTURES, EXCEPT FOR THE AMERICAN INDIANS. BUT OTHER CULTURES FASINATE
    ME. AND I TOO LOVE CURRY, THE SMELL IS WONDERFUL AND FOODS COOKED WITH CURRY ARE EVEN BETTER. TRADITIONS ARE A WONDERFUL THING
    TO HAVE AND TO CARRY FORWARD INTO OUR OWN
    FAMILIES.
    I MISS MY FRIEND JULIE WHOM I TOLD IS FROM TRINIAD ALSO, I HAVE NOT SEEN HER IN FOUR YEARS.
    BUT GOD WILLING I HOPE I WILL NOT HAVE TO WAIT
    FOUR MORE YEARS.
    GOD BLESS YOU MY SISTER,~MARILYN~
     

  5. My parents are off to Trinidad on Thursday…I am SOOO jealous. I have been craving some doubles and good roti! I guess they will get to enjoy all that for a little bit, along with all the other treasures T\’dad has to offer. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Hi,Do you need advertising displays, digital signages, mp4 advertisement players, SD card players and advertisement LCD displays? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[defjfchiffddgde]

Leave a Reply

