Wazhat! Wahzat!

Sad

15 Comments

If you want to be respected by others the great thing is to respect yourself. Only by that, only by self-respect will you compel others to respect you.
–Fyodor Dostoevsky

 
 
Every day I drive alongside some women of the street. Profession- " Working Pro". Some how the street next to my townhouse complex has become a haven for prostitutes and junkies.
And I wonder as I drive by and see them sitting on the side of the road, scantily clad in what I can only assume is to be provocative positions. What misdirection in their lives made them think that selling themselves to dirty little men was the only alternative that they had?! I feel so sad as I see one or two of them asleep on a piece of cardboard in the middle of the day on the sidewalk… so vulnerable to any thing or anyone. I could only guess that there is a certain amount of detachment that allows a person to lay across a sidewalk and go to sleep. Either that or a certain amount of booze or drug. Hmmm very sad.
 
And I have to say thank you God for keeping me, my family and my friends from ever having to make such a decision. And as much as I would love to give a hand I know the most I can do is say a prayer or ten.
 
 
 
Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Sad

  1. Hi G, it is indeed very sad when we encounter people like that.  I often wonder (like you) what decisions that were made to get them to this point.  I try not to judge them because I know it is only by the grace of God that I am where I am.  I have learned that life is a very strange thing………………….I just try to give thanks always and say a prayer for those who are less fortunate.  How are you doing otherwise?  Is the red eye completely gone now?  Thank God the kids didn\’t get it!  Off to teach in a while………even though I am tired and ready to lie down in my bed:)

  2. Prayer is a powerful thing, dear friend, and an important ministry, along with raising your dear children, and guiding them to a better way of dealing with life.  Thanks for the encouraging words about the writing.  I am so glad you are well and over the virus!

  3. I have done alot of study on that exact subject, at college I was going into counseling before I found out 2-1/2 years into my studies how little it really paid and dropped out to continue accounting work whick paid well above counseling. Anyway, the studies we did were so hard. We had to actually go into those situations and interview people, homeless, prostitutes, seniors in action centers etc. The way the human mind works sometimes is very strange and I really hate to say this BUT, many of those persons actually choose that lifestyle. Alot of them have to "relearn" what we call "normal" living situations, when giving the opportunity and some still go back to their old ways better that is their "learned comfort zone". I\’m with you that all you can do is pray!
     
    Hugs!
    Laura

  4. I\’ve seen so many girls sell themselves short looking for attention from men.  I think active fathers would help alleviate this problem SO much.  Sorry if that seems a little crazy, but I really do believe it.
     
    KM

  5. A sad sight indeed.  I wonder if they feel trapped now, unable to think past their situation? But by the grace of God, goeth I.  Thank goodness for a stable home life and loving parents.

  6.  
    Hi,
     
    Yes, this is very sad. And it is the primal "business" in the world as you see. Some of the women acting like that because of money, but I have to say that some of them acting as they desire. I think most of them are poor about intellect. That is a hard life. I wish I can say "No women need not like this ways". But this is world buddy. We have to accept some realities…
     
    Have a nice day,
     
    Zeynep.
     

  7. Ah, I forgat, actually I am princess before 6 beers, ha ha!

  8. Hey, just stopping by to say hello.  Hope your week is going well.

  9. Some of these women can do better, but they think that the easier way out, and the money is faster.  Some others just can\’t do better, but prostitution is never good, especially with all the freeks and ailments out here in these times!
     
    I thank God too that he has made a better way for me.  All we can do is offer hope and some prayers.

  10. Oy, hope yer pink eye clears up quickly and the children don\’t catch it. Little cuties in their costumes : )
    Having worked in counseling for 25 years, it is so sad that one cannot help everyone make better choices. I agree with barnyard mamma, we need more father\’s to stay in the family and parent their girls better. Happy Thanksgiving : ) hugs, Kat

  11. Stopping by to wish you a blessed and happy weekend!

  12. Hi G, hope everything is okay with you and the kids.  You haven\’t been around for a few days.  Take care.

  13. Oh, that is so sad.  I agree with you that it breaks my heart that they feel that is the only option or the best one.  I\’m glad you are feeling better.  Have a wonderful and blessed week!

  14. Hey friend!  Hope all is well with you and yours.

Leave a Reply

