Wazhat! Wahzat!

Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without sorrel

15 Comments

I have been looking forward to a glass of sorrel. I could pick up some from the store, but it just doesn’t taste the same to me as if it was homemade especially homemade in Trinidad.
 
Sorrel is a strange looking fruit that we from the West Indies ( Caribbean ) make a drink from every year to celebrate the Christmas season.
 
It is strange how certain food  or drink reminds me of people. I find that I can’t think of sorrel without remembering my grandmother adding a little rum to our sorrel as a treat for helping with all the last minute chores necessary to get the house ready for Christmas. (My grannie has been dead now for about 12 years.  Now she loved to entertain.) Oh and don’t be upset, yes we were young, but my Grandparents believed that we… all my cousins and me should learn what the taste of alcohol is like so that no one could ever get us drunk, so my grandfather actually lined us up one day and gave us a taste of the various liquors we may have encountered in a party and to be honest we all can handle our alcohol. ( Yes I can handle my alcohol, but I really am not much of a drinker. One or two on a special occassion …anyway I digress.) That drink of sorrel was just the best that I ever had. I think it had more to do with the fact that we were all happy to be with each other getting the house ready than the rum did.
 
Now Jamaicans make their sorrel with rum, but sorry it just doesn’t work for me. It is a little bit too sweet and just a tad bit too thick and oh way too much ginger. And I have found that I don’t nearly enjoy it as the sorrel that I grow up on. Which luckily I get to sample this Christmas as I get to spend Christmas in Trinidad for the first time in five years. My Trini friend Fay best describes the Trini Christmas experience.
 
Of course, the Sorrel is not the only thing that I will cherish. I am looking forward to the huge family gatherings because along with sorrel Christmas just wouldn’t be Christmas without love and family.
 
Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without sorrel

  1. Hi, I am stopping by to congratulate you on being featured. It is so much fun and I hope this week is a blast for you. Happy Hoildays and Hope you are enjoying the season.
    Lisa

  2. Hey G, I was trying to explain to my Texan friend last night what sorrel was.  We don\’t put rum in ours at all, but it is a really nice drink, isn\’t it?  I will miss it this year, but that\’s ok……..maybe I will ask my mum to freeze some so I could have when I go home for Spring Break.  Are you going home soon?

  3. For me, I must have sugar cookies!  Enjoy your time with your family and Christmas Blessings!

  4. Hey G,
     
    This was a wonderful blog.  I did read up on sorrel once, when I saw it mentioned in a blog a while back.  Anyway, your grandparents sound like lovely people and your family Christmas times, very special. 
     
    Hugs,
    Beth

  5. Hello there from chilly Northern BC, Canada!  Came to visit today after seeing you featured on Best of Spaces…congratulations!  I loved the \’snow day\’ idea (and photos!), and am intrigued by your Christmas drink…I\’ll be back to visit!Merry Christmas,Mandy

  6. Hi there!  I\’ve heard Sherry talk about Sorrel, but I\’m not sure what that is… sounds tasty though.  I\’m doing well, super-excited about Christmas with Baylee this year.  She has been SO good with the trees and the presents.  I\’m very impressed so far!  Other than that… just keeping busy with work.
     
    Hugs – Tiffany

  7. Food, drinks, smells – they all can take me to certain place, time.  I love that.  It makes some memories all the more special. 
     
    My parents also let me have a drink on occasion, which looking back I think was a great idea.  They wanted me to realize having a drink was no big deal so I wouldn\’t sneak and try it and overindulge.  It worked!  I would have a drink occasionally at home at events, so when my friends would \’score!\’ something to drink, I didn\’t really care to drink any of it.  Wasn\’t a big deal at all.
     
    I LOVE the pics of the babes.  They are beautiful.  Looks like they had a great time.

  8. Perhaps when you come back you wouldn\’t mind posting the recipe? It sounds very interesting…

  9. Girl, I remember Ma\’s sorrel too!!  You know how they say back home "ah little rum good for the worms"!!  LOL  My grandmother loved Christmas and entertaining during this time too!  I really miss her. She loved to bake her cakes and she made the most banging coconut sweet breads!!!!!!!!
     
    Child, sorrel not suppose to be thick? What is that? Syrup?  LOL!!  I still have a few packets of dried sorrel in my kitchen cupboard from last year.  I\’m definitely going to make it this Christmas.
     
    I am thinking of spending Christmas in Trinidad from next year yes!  I miss all the fuss…although I\’m currently caught up in it right now just like back home.
     
    Have a wonderful weekend!!

  10. Hi G, just stopping by to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas.  Enjoy the holiday in Trinidad.  I know the kids will have loads of fun!  Take care and blessings.

  11. Hello!  I happened on your blog because it was featured.  I love it!  As soon as I saw the word "Trinidadian," I knew I had to have a peek.  My mother\’s family hails from there, and I miss it terribly.  Know any of the Best\’s from Tuna Puna by any chance?  
     
    Your children are just beautiful.  Keep up the good work.  I\’ll be visiting again…
     
    Kemba

  12. Hello there
     
    I\’m just checking out the featured spaces this week, its always interesting to read what the people on the other side on the world write about.
     
    Ok, I\’ve been here for 5 minutes & still no offer of a virtual Sorrel drink yet, where\’s your sense of hospitality for your esteemed guests? 🙂
     
    Take care. 😉

  13. I love Sorrel-gurl you are bringing me back to my west indian roots!!!
     
    Congrats on being featured, you have lovely children.  Please visit my blog http://gigisroom.blogspot.com

  14. I hope i will talk to you in the future, i like the way you expesse yourself, i think you are a very strong soul.dedicated on earth, surronding for nature, is exactly what i like to.I love my family, i love lots my art, but the biggest love off all, is "Mother Nature" If i could live just looking to the sky. looking at the stars.looking to the amusing waters of the ocean. I will have the greats way off living.Merry Christmas: and all the very best for the New Year 2007,Emilia Fernandes.Australia

  15. Wow…I love learning new things!  I hope I get to experience this taste one day.  I also PRAY that I will visit Jamaica one day as well!!
     
    Very nice space you have here and congratulations on being one of MSNs Best Spaces!!
     
    Merry Christmas!
     
    *Theresa*

Leave a Reply

