Wazhat! Wahzat!

Ash Wednesday

6 Comments

As I have gotten older I have gained an appreciation for going to church on Ash Wednesday. There is something really purifying about the ashes used to apply a cross on your forehead. It is a calming, humbling ritual that really signifies the beginning of Lent and the sacrifies that it should entail.
 
Lent on the whole is a time that even as a child I held great interest in. It was always the time that I would see how far I could push myself spiritually. As you know it is a time that most people give something up. And I would give up the candies, the sweets, the fries and when I got older partying (teenager), then one lent it struck me that giving up those things wasn’t a big sacrifice for me, because I never really ate those things anyway and then I decided to give up meat for Lent. And that really hurt, because I was and I am still a person that doesn’t think I have eaten unless there is some form of meat, preferably chicken in my plate. And then the following year I upped the ante, by not only giving meat up for the entire 40 days I also decided to fast on Wednesday and Fridays. Saying a decade of the rosary whenever the hunger pangs hit. Eventually I didn’t feel hungry and I surely didn’t miss the meat.
 
Of course, it is not only about sacrifice it is about prayer. And I would find myself being most prayerful during lent.
 
I haven’t been really serious about the sacrifices for lent in recent years. I certainly haven’t fasted any at all because there was too much going in my life to not have food. But I think I am going to try it again. I am going to give meat up for the entire 40 days of lent and try at least once to fast one day from 7-6 and see if I can make it.
 
Because for me if I have had a good lenten season, then my spiritual year is even better!
 
 
 
 
 
Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Ash Wednesday

  1. I wish I had your courage, strength, positive attitude and will!!!!

  2. Girl I was never into carnival and the Ash Wednesday traditions nah.  I was never Catholic, and back home I think it was only the Catholics who went to church on ash Wednesday for "ashes".  But my dear grandmother made sure we went to Sunday morning services at the Anglican church and we also couldn\’t miss Palm Sunday and Good Friday services.  We had to get that palm on Palm Sunday.  Well you know about the good friday lunch….provision and salt fish or salmon.  And the price of fish would be as high as the sky during lenten season!!

  3. Like Fay, I was raised Anglican.  However, if memory serves me correctly, I think we got ashes too at our church.  You have inspired me to fast on Fridays during Lent so I will try beginning tomorrow.  Being without cable isn\’t bad at all.  I still have the networks (ABC, NBC, CBS and FOX) but I hardly watch them except for a few shows (Grey\’s Anatomy, etc.).  My problem was watching way too much ESPN and I have been fine without it.  Now when the NFL season starts again, that story might change:)  Have a great day!

  4. Good luck with your goal!  You can do it!!!God bless 🙂

  5. hope you are good…
    :o) smiles are contagious…so pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  6. Yeah, I get bored with it every now and then and have to change it up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

