Wazhat! Wahzat!

celebrity?!

15 Comments

We West Indians ( people from the Caribbean) have a curious way about us when it comes to celebrities. Especially those of us hailing from Trindad. We think we are too cool to get all hot and bothered by celebrities. So even if we may be hopelessly tickled by the famed person in our prescence there is no way that you would let it show.
 
So you can imagine my embarrassment when my husband snaps a picture of me with Dwight Yorke of Manchester United fame ( football-not American). For one thing I have known him for at least 15 years and the other -he is not that cute. Ok being silly, he is a nice guy. But I have known him forever and I certainly didn’t want to come across as a simple fan. Oh well too late.(Here I am standing with Dwight Yorke)
       ( Oh and this is Sol Campbell)
 
Also among the notables were Andy Cole and Sol Campbell. (also famous footballers.)  It is really is rough being a celebrity, those guys patiently stood by while all and sundry snapped away, hugged and cahjoled.
 
We were all at the Cricket WorldCup where the West Indies played Ireland and WON!! Yeah!
 
There is something so incredible about being in a stadium full of sports lovers. The air is charged with anticipation and excitement. Peanuts are sailing through the air as the peanut man targets the man two rows above your head. The entire stadium is swept up into the joy of a wave. And everywhere you turn there is a scantily clad female ‘cheerleading’. You get carried away with all the emotion of your team winning. And it is sweet to be backing the winning team.
 
( oh by the way not a big fan of cricket. Even though did learn a little more about it in this game.)
Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

15 thoughts on “celebrity?!

  1. Oh Gayle, wish I could be there right now:)  Nice chatting with you last night………get a mic soon:)

  2. A good atmosphere makes any sporting event better–there\’s just something about BEING there. 
     
    When I see famous people I am rendered shy and speechless–completely unlike myself.  You would have never caught a picture because I woudn\’t get that close.  Funny.
     
    KM

  3. A good atmosphere makes any sporting event better–there\’s just something about BEING there. 
     
    When I see famous people I am rendered shy and speechless–completely unlike myself.  You would have never caught a picture because I woudn\’t get that close.  Funny.
     
    KM

  4. A good atmosphere makes any sporting event better–there\’s just something about BEING there. 
     
    When I see famous people I am rendered shy and speechless–completely unlike myself.  You would have never caught a picture because I woudn\’t get that close.  Funny.
     
    KM

  5. A good atmosphere makes any sporting event better–there\’s just something about BEING there. 
     
    When I see famous people I am rendered shy and speechless–completely unlike myself.  You would have never caught a picture because I woudn\’t get that close.  Funny.
     
    KM

  6. A good atmosphere makes any sporting event better–there\’s just something about BEING there. 
     
    When I see famous people I am rendered shy and speechless–completely unlike myself.  You would have never caught a picture because I woudn\’t get that close.  Funny.
     
    KM

  7. Well look who\’s trying to be a cricket fan?  LOL…Hi Gayle!  I see that I\’m not the only one who thinks Dwight is not at all cute…very far from it actually….moving right along!  Yes, you know how we trinis could act, our poor heart will be doing flip flops inside and we will not show one bit of excitement!  These "celebs" are regular folks just us.  However, their bank accounts are not regular like ours, that\’s the only thing!  
     
    There is truly nothing like a live game of cricket…a totally different feeling from watching it on TV.  Just like me, I will not sit to watch NBA Basketball on TV, but guess who goes to Phillips Arena to watch the Atlanta Hawks play every so often?  Yep me!!  And I love it…..very exciting!!
     
    Have a great week!

  8. Hey!  Just wanted to stop by and say hi.  It\’s been too long since I was here (head hanging in shame).  Sounds like you\’re keeping things fun and interesting.  Wow!  A celebrity:)  Take care!  -T

  9. Gayle, why is it raining in Antigua?  It never rains on that crazy island!  Oh well, let\’s hope WI could pull the win off:)

  10. It\’s a cool picture.  Just think of it as a picture of you and an old friend.  Sounds like a fun day.  I\’ve never been to a non american football game.  (aka Soccer here in america!)
    Siobhan

  11. Awwww, I\’m sure your longtime friend was pleased to be asked to be photographed with YOU! Cute pic… you have a great smile! (occupational hazard.. I notice things like that!)
     
    weimie

  12. i shoudl really read into cricket…it is a sport that i am not familiar with….

    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don\’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  13. West Indies is driving all the islands mad:)!

  14. Looks like you had a great time!!  Awesome pics!By the way, I moved my blog.  Click hereGod bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

