Wazhat! Wahzat!

It is really kind of surreal!

7 Comments

I have lights, water, internet and gas. Most of the stores are open and for the most part things appear to be back to normal.
 
Well as normal as it is driving through piles and piles of dead and broken trees and branches gathered together as if a mass funeral for the trees that fell in Dean path.
As normal as it is standing in line at Wendy’s (that is leading outside the door by the way) and realizing that the reason it is so hot is not because of a faulty air conditioner unit, but because the place is being lit by a generator and just doesn’t have electricity.
And there is no way that being under a state of emergency could ever be considered normal. (the government has a state of emergency in to safe guard against looting and other such mischief.)
And watching the news at night is testimony alone that things are not quite normal. There is so much destruction south of Kingston that I have to say a prayer for those poor people and alternatively say Thank God that my family is safe and sound and the roof and windows are on tight.
 
So even though I feel safe in my little bubble in which I include a lot of my friends I still have wonder at the surreallness of my state of normal.
 
Keep safe!
 
 
 
Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

7 thoughts on “It is really kind of surreal!

  1.  Wow!  Again thank God that you are safe, and that you were not a part of the destruction.  Hopefully everything should return to normal soon.  I know that the Islanders here in the Atl have began to put resources together to send to Jamacia before the storm even came. 
     
    Have a good weekend and please stay safe!

  2. Hi Wahzat,
     
    Glad to know you are safe!  I replied a moment ago, but it disappeared on me, so if you read two comments from me that sound familiar… yeah, it\’s me.
     
    Thanks for taking such good care of my space – you\’re been so kind:)
     
    hugs,
    Gracia~~~

  3.  well it\’s good to know that you are ok…
    *~* :o) smiles are contagious… :o) so pass one on … :o) soon the whole world will be smiling… :o) *~*
     

  4. Wow, I\’m so glad that you and your family are safe!  I will keep those that weren\’t so lucky in my prayers.God bless 🙂

  5.  Thank the Good Lord that youguys are okay.  I saw you online the other night and was so relieved.  Actually it was your hubby, but he told me that all was well with you!!!  🙂  I hope that everyone who has been affected by this gets up on their feet soon!
    God Bless
    Hugs
    Siobhan

  6. Good to see everyone is safe and sound. I was worried when I saw the pics on tv.
     
    Hugs
     
    Chris 

  7. sho yuh right I am a trini for life!
    I sure hope with all that good food down deh yuh ehyuh lining up for Wendy! that north american poison, for God sake i hope not please tell me you smarter than them dead trees you passing by.
    Hope all is well and you and all there recover well, blessings and peace be with you all. 

Leave a Reply

