Wazhat! Wahzat!

Humanizing all things evil? huh!

7 Comments

Has any one else noticed this?

Media land has been doing a really great job of changing the image of all things evil and scary. I found myself watching the ‘Reaper’ premiere last week and it was funny, but it made me think when did the devil and his demons become do gooders? What is medialand’s need to humanize things that are supposed to be scary? like the new show ‘Moonlight’, which portrays a vampire with a heart of gold or mortal loving as his friend referred to him. Vampires drink blood from live human subjects, what could be warm and cuddly about that? where is the human aspect to that… but they found it and he is a vampire style robin hood, detective you choose it. This concept is very similiar in premise to the WB’s shows Angel and in a way Charmed. Now I am going to be honest I am always intrigued by fairy tales, witch stories (all good witches of course) and vampire stories maybe it is the magic link that they all have. But really and truly all of those with the exception of the fairies are all scary evil entities.

I remember the Caribbean/Trinbagonian stories or folklore that was read to us to scare us were all about La Diablesse, Soucouyant etc. . These supernatural entities were the vampires and witches of the Caribbean but from children we were taught to fear not embrace them. Vampires and witches are all over medialand there was even a disney movie with a family vampires that yes needed blood but they were good because they only had cow’s blood. Really!

However we could argue that all of these are made up by the media for entertaiment anyway and if they choose to make them human then they can, but you know the evil and scary being humanized is not only left to devils, witches and vampires but it is being done to the wild animals as well. The animals animated in those movies like Madagascar, Lion King etc are no way close to what they are like in real zebras and lions are not friends and sorry neither are giraffes friendly with hippos or snakes for that matter. I was shocked! shocked! to find out that hippos are the biggest man killer in Africa and not the lions that one would expect. Yes, those tutu wearing animals that love to dance albeit not too gracefully because of their size are notoriously evil tempered and would kill you faster than a alligator or lion would. And as much as I love my teddy bear and have been an avid collector of them for years you know they are not half as cuddly and sweet in real. They are downright mean. So what do I mean by all of my ramblings. To be honest I don’t know. It just struck me as strange that things, beings, animals that we as people should at least have a healthy respect if not fear were given hearts of gold and was being humanized.

What gives with that?!

Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Humanizing all things evil? huh!

  1. Hi G, the media is never going to get any better.  The crap that\’s on tv these days never ceases to amaze me anymore.  At least kids will not be scared after watching tv and they have to go to bed alone.  But what happens when or if they are faced with a situation of one of these \’demons\’ coming to them….sounds silly, but these things happen.
     
    Girl I remember those la diablesse and soucouyant stories.  Had some \’soucauyant\’ experiences too.  But I remember faking that a soucauyant had sucked me, because everybody was waking up in the area with the marks and I didn\’t have one.  So I got a pencil and a razor blade and shaved the lead and neatly rubbed it into skin until it was nice and black, then I went crying to my father, who of course was totally convinced, and was about to take me for a drive to get ice cream and chicken and chips!!  That is up until my grandmother came and rubbed her finger straight through the middle of the damn thing!  Busted!!! 

  2. Hi G, the media is never going to get any better.  The crap that\’s on tv these days never ceases to amaze me anymore.  At least kids will not be scared after watching tv and they have to go to bed alone.  But what happens when or if they are faced with a situation of one of these \’demons\’ coming to them….sounds silly, but these things happen.
     
    Girl I remember those la diablesse and soucouyant stories.  Had some \’soucauyant\’ experiences too.  But I remember faking that a soucauyant had sucked me, because everybody was waking up in the area with the marks and I didn\’t have one.  So I got a pencil and a razor blade and shaved the lead and neatly rubbed it into skin until it was nice and black, then I went crying to my father, who of course was totally convinced, and was about to take me for a drive to get ice cream and chicken and chips!!  That is up until my grandmother came and rubbed her finger straight through the middle of the damn thing!  Busted!!! 

  3. Hi G, the media is never going to get any better.  The crap that\’s on tv these days never ceases to amaze me anymore.  At least kids will not be scared after watching tv and they have to go to bed alone.  But what happens when or if they are faced with a situation of one of these \’demons\’ coming to them….sounds silly, but these things happen.
     
    Girl I remember those la diablesse and soucouyant stories.  Had some \’soucauyant\’ experiences too.  But I remember faking that a soucauyant had sucked me, because everybody was waking up in the area with the marks and I didn\’t have one.  So I got a pencil and a razor blade and shaved the lead and neatly rubbed it into skin until it was nice and black, then I went crying to my father, who of course was totally convinced, and was about to take me for a drive to get ice cream and chicken and chips!!  That is up until my grandmother came and rubbed her finger straight through the middle of the damn thing!  Busted!!! 

  4. Hi G, the media is never going to get any better.  The crap that\’s on tv these days never ceases to amaze me anymore.  At least kids will not be scared after watching tv and they have to go to bed alone.  But what happens when or if they are faced with a situation of one of these \’demons\’ coming to them….sounds silly, but these things happen.
     
    Girl I remember those la diablesse and soucouyant stories.  Had some \’soucauyant\’ experiences too.  But I remember faking that a soucauyant had sucked me, because everybody was waking up in the area with the marks and I didn\’t have one.  So I got a pencil and a razor blade and shaved the lead and neatly rubbed it into skin until it was nice and black, then I went crying to my father, who of course was totally convinced, and was about to take me for a drive to get ice cream and chicken and chips!!  That is up until my grandmother came and rubbed her finger straight through the middle of the damn thing!  Busted!!! 

  5. G,
     
    Thank you for your lovely and kind comments…they touched my heart…and made my spirit happy.  I have been catching up with some of your blogs. 
     
    Glad the children are adjusting to being back in school and I really enjoyed the pictures of them working through that first day of going back. 
     
    You have a handsome father!
     
    I was excited about the new Fall T.V. season for some of the shows too…and enjoyed reading your blog on that.
     
    Though I can enjoy watching some of the folklore stories…I do get concerned about how the gore has become way too accepted and dulled down responses to real evil.  I am especially concerned about parents letting their children watch or play games that inspire them to accept evil or act it out.
     
    Hope you, and your family, are having a good week, my dear friend!
     
    Love and hugs,
    Beth

  6. I liked Moonlight, although it wasn\’t as good as Angel.  At least not yet.   David Boreanez as Angel (besides being totally hot!!  I love him in Bones) was self deprecating and had a dry sense of humor.  I didn\’t see the Reaper, I meant to I shall have to check it out.   But I thought the premise of the Reaper was that he was DEATH, not Satan.  Death is a part of life.  Is he the Devil??  I shall have to watch.  I have loved a lot of the new shows.  I love the Bionic Woman.  (loved the 70\’s show)  I like that show Life.  And the new show Chuck is hysterical. 
    I think Hollywood has to humanize things as part of being creative, but that is an interesting thing about the hippo in life, I did not know that!!  
    Hugs
    Siobhan

  7.  
    So what do I mean by all of my ramblings. To be honest I don\’t know. <—- lol
    Well, it made for an interesting read, that\’s for sure.
    🙂
     
    ~Nooner~
     

Leave a Reply

