Wazhat! Wahzat!

It’s on my mind so I am going to share it!

21 Comments

What a joy it is, being the sunshine gal that I am, to wake to a sun-filled morning. Let’s do the sunshine dance.  
Yup the rain has slowed up enough to let the sun come out and play. All weekend it has peeked out and shone down, so what if there were intermittent showers through out, but it was not continous so we are happy. The sun is out, but the place is still wet.. I guess we need a week of sun to eleviate the dampness. Still Joy Joy
 
chatting about some soap box topics
  • As much as I like the idea of a possible Black President in the USA I am sorry it struck me recently that if I was American I most probably would not vote for Barack Obama. Why?! you must be asking and simply it is because he is Muslim. If I was American I doubt I would be comfortable with a non-Christian President. Isn’t it a strange thing coming from a person who  hails from a country (TnT) where a whole lot of religions exist peacefully and have had one or two non -Christians as Prime Minister.
  • Now on to the legal driving age in the US why hasn’t anyone thought to raise that age instead of thinking of raising the drinking age. Just curious, but why isn’t it older than 16. And why do they need to be gifted with cars as soon as hit that magic age. This thought got into my head after watching a state farm ad about all the teenagers that would die each year because of a car accident. Also added to an article about a silly teen who crashed into a man while texting at the wheel. And lets not talk about the Britney, Paris, Nicole and Lindseys of the US. I know the youth of the US will be pissed with me but raise the age to say 18 then have a mandatory 6 month supervised driving period. And please don’t give sports cars to teenagers EVER!! And that should go for all teens through out the world. Sports cars are for men … or women who are going through their middle life adjustment (notice I didn’t say crisis )
the power of suggestion
  • I unwittingly got my husband and I into a "oh so you think I am fat" conversation. Yes he stuck his foot into his mouth and even though I wasn’t asking him the question or thinking that I was looking ….. gasp… fat. I still, even though I know better, walked away from the conversation feeling five pound heavier than when the conversation started sigh. Sigh so I guess I have to step up my plans to exercise more and actually do it LOL. 
recently got a new mosquito wand/zapper.
This new zapper has to be the most barbaric device that I have used. The wand looks like a tennis racket and when you swat the mosquito it lets out an electric charge that is supposed to kill the bug. The one we had before will stun them and they may or may not die, well this new one obliterates them with a very loud phack and they literally blow up in front of your eyes. With the rains of course the mosquito population is swollen and they are mean and after anything with blood. After at least 100 bites my self and a zillion on the poor kiddies I now take great delight in blowing up the buggers. I feel so diabolical muhhahaha!! Run you pesky mosquitos run!!
 
should I or shouldn’t I
Thinking of rejoining the workforce as a part-timer… still not sure though, because I am enjoying the ease of my life. My life is stressful enough not sure I want to introduce work stress into it, but missing the interaction of people in my field, the creativity and the extra money wouldn’t hurt as well.
 
friends
  • The last few weeks have been really nice inspite of the rain because we have had long time friends visiting from outside of Jamaica. It is really great meeting up with people who knew you when it helps to remind you how great friends are and that you did have a life before the children. I think nothing is better than not seeing a friend for years and when you do meet it feels like just yesterday that we chatted.
And finally for now
Driving alongside a donkey drawn cart and then a man on horse back on the way to Ocho Rios last week it made me wonder… did they have road rage in the time of horse drawn buggies?
 
 
 
 
Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

21 thoughts on “It’s on my mind so I am going to share it!

  1. Hello!  Hello!  Thanks for giving me so many things to ponder. 
    So, I must be living under a rock because Barack being Muslim got right past me.  I didn\’t know that.  Very interesting….
    Don\’t get the PT gig!  Enjoy your life.  -T

  2. Here in Louisiana the driving age is 17–I cringe to think that I may have to wait 17 years before I get a break on the driving people around thing.  I don\’t think the problem is drivers are young–it\’s that they\’re inexperienced.  I think we\’d be in a lot better situation if we slowly let kids drive a little more here and there rather than having them turn some arbitrary age and then handing them the keys to the car.  For the record, I never drove a day unti I was fifteen which is when I got a liscense.  I was in three accidents before I was sixteen. 
     
    As I write this I realize that Charlie\’s vision problems may prevent him from ever getting a liscense.  I will now go and pray that his vision isn\’t that bad.
     
    KM

  3. I\’ve seen the bug zapping thingy – when flies are out in full force at picnics and stuff – I\’ll be wishing I had one. Just as a scare tactic, if nothing else. (Sorta like the fly swatter – flies bug the heck outta you until you bring out the swatter and then they mysteriously disappear!)
     
    I totally agree with the driving age – it is too young… or so I\’ve always thought. But… maybe its more a matter of inexperience as a previous commenter said…. but what I do agree wholeheartedly on is the business about parents giving the gift of a brand new car to their kids at 16! They seem to have no respect or appreciation for a gift of that magnitude – but more that it is something "EXPECTED". We made our oldest earn her vehicle – and it was an old used one passed over to her. (And, I still wonder how much she learned for doing THAT!)
     
    Enjoy the sunshine for me too. Makes me wanna come visit… as the cold rainy day we had depressed the heck outta me.
     
     

  4. Hi!! Nice to hear something from you. Thanks for the comment. I hope all is well with you and family. Cheers, Zeynep xx

  5. Hi G!
     
    See you\’re having quite a time over there.  That bug zapper is hottttt, I need to get one of those so that I could swat Damian and my stupid boss!
     
    I think a whole lot of people here in America don\’t know of that little fact that Barack is Muslim.  It would be quite interesting to know their thoughts after finding this out, \’cause you know that the US is currently at war with the \’muslims\’.  But you never know, as they say, "all muslims are not terrorist, but the terrorists are muslims".  Mind you, I do have muslim relatives too eh. 
     
    About the driving age limits, I have always said that that age limit should be increased.  Don\’t you have to be 18 in the islands to get a drivers permit?  Anyway, kids here get to have cars at that early age because of their "hectic schedules" as well as the schedules of their parents, who do not have time to drive them around from practice to practice and class to class.  So they get a drivers permit and the wonderful parents give them fancy cars. 
     
    I say no to the added stress of part time gig.  I know you miss the adult socialization, but if one income is making the grade and it\’s not necessary, DON\’T DO IT! 

  6. I enjoyed each of your soap box topics very insightful/humerous 😀 I\’m glad the rain has let up for you all and the sun out shining…I believe we have your rain now which is great because it has been so dry all summer long. One of the worst years ever…The fall colors of trees are making up for the Earth\’s dead beauty though.
    And about teenagers driving…I am pretty sure when my child hits 16 he will not only have a car but will neither have his lisence…I think driving when you are 18 is the only sensable thing to do when the accident rate for them is so  high and people are so careless on the road…kind of makes me wish we did still have horses and buggies because to answer your question I dont think road rage even existed back then lol
    Lots of love to you and I hope you have a wonderful Halloween! what will your children dress up as?

  7. You had alot to get off your mind, W!  The driving age in my state is 17.  However, I agree with your assessment.  I\’ve learned that each year until the mid-twenties ones brain is still developing and reasoning powers increase.  (I owe this knowledge to Dr. Phi!)  Bravo for higher a driving age!
     
    Mr. Obama isn\’t doing very well, lately.   He has flubbed on a number of occasions.  I don\’t care what race he is – he scares me.  This next year in America will be very interesting.
     
    Thanks so much for stopping by.  I hadn\’t realized you did until I went back to an earlier blog.  Blessings to you and your beautiful family, gail

  8. just found your blog….great writing and beautiful family…and no….you\’re not fat

  9. HI!  I love this post .. it has a little of this and a little of that…  I liked Barack until he started talking about war and how he would go to war without hestitation if he felt it was needed.  *sigh*  didn\’t we just have to deal with that type of attitude with our present President – we certainly don\’t need another one.  And the bit about him being Muslim slipped right by me too..  thought I\’m not sure how that might have made me feel if I wasn\’t already put off due to his view on wars…
     
    I\’m worried already about my son coming to driving age in a few years – he is excited as most kids are – but I\’m nervous.  Not so much for him because he really (usually) has a good head on his shoulders but more becuase of the other drivers out there who are chatting on phones or texting .. and just not paying attention..  that is what scares me!
     
    It\’s amazing how life changes after kids, huh?  I know for some it changes more then for others – but there are times I think and look forward to life when they are off on their own – then they do something cute and I get heartsick thinking that soon they\’ll be off on their own! LOL  – just can\’t please some people, can you?
     
    I hope you are continuing to enjoy the weather – we\’ve finally had a little rain but it appears the colder weather is on it\’s way (oh no!!) .. guess we couldn\’t hold off winter for too long…
     
    hugs,
    Molly

  10. HI!  I love this post .. it has a little of this and a little of that…  I liked Barack until he started talking about war and how he would go to war without hestitation if he felt it was needed.  *sigh*  didn\’t we just have to deal with that type of attitude with our present President – we certainly don\’t need another one.  And the bit about him being Muslim slipped right by me too..  thought I\’m not sure how that might have made me feel if I wasn\’t already put off due to his view on wars…
     
    I\’m worried already about my son coming to driving age in a few years – he is excited as most kids are – but I\’m nervous.  Not so much for him because he really (usually) has a good head on his shoulders but more becuase of the other drivers out there who are chatting on phones or texting .. and just not paying attention..  that is what scares me!
     
    It\’s amazing how life changes after kids, huh?  I know for some it changes more then for others – but there are times I think and look forward to life when they are off on their own – then they do something cute and I get heartsick thinking that soon they\’ll be off on their own! LOL  – just can\’t please some people, can you?
     
    I hope you are continuing to enjoy the weather – we\’ve finally had a little rain but it appears the colder weather is on it\’s way (oh no!!) .. guess we couldn\’t hold off winter for too long…
     
    hugs,
    Molly

  11. G,
     
    Please thank H for the lovely computer hug!  Nothing like the hug of a dear child to make you feel special!
     
    Enjoyed your blog and learning about your thoughts and opinions on the different subjects you mentioned.  Even though I am not a political supporter of Barack Obama, (See link), on many of the issues, I still wanted to be fair and be sure you are getting accurate information on him.  He became part of the United Church of Christ about 20 years ago.  He does profess to be a Christian.  He was raised learning both doctrines.  From what I read about him in Wikipedia… if it is accurate, he wanted a church that practiced social activism…and found that in the \’Trinity United Church of Christ\’…pastored by Jeremian Wright Jr.  Here is a news article on that. 
     
    Hoping that you and your family will have a great week ahead and thank you for your prayers and encouragement!
     
    Love and hugs,
    Beth
     
     
     
     
     
     
        
     
     
     
     
     

  12. Hello again….just had to comment on that bug zapper thingy since I love to camp in the summer and fall those things are fantastic for wasps, flies and spiders….since I dislike all of them when uninvited at meal times!  Have a fantistic week!
     
     

  13. Barack Obama in not a  muslim he is a christian.  Read his autobiography for the details of his life.  He grew up on the Hawaiian island of Ohau. His mother is white and from Kansas and his father is black and from Kenya.  His parents met while in college at the University of Hawaii.  You are falling for the Republican "swift boat," style attack on him.  Open your eyes and do some research and seek out the truth, don\’t fall for this smear campaign, and beware there will be more attacks and more lies that is for sure.
    It is very disturbing to me that people are falling for this! What people should have opened their eyes to was George Bush, he had a criminal past including 2 DUI\’s, and allegations of cocaine use. This was never fully brought to the attention of the public and he slipped through the cracks, twice. 

Leave a Reply

