Wazhat! Wahzat!

Loss of a father

5 Comments

Every time I hear of the loss of someone else’s father I feel a ache and a few moments of anxiety as I am reminded of the very real mortality of my own father. I am realistic about the fact that death will happen one day, however I rather it come some where in the very very very distant future. My dad has to see his great grands right! Who cares if he is pushing 75 now!

Sigh the reason I have been thrust into some of those anxious moments recently came about because three days ago some friends of mine lost their father to cancer and I was distraught for them and now today my 3 year old nephew lost his grandfather who may have had an asthma attack or a heart attack. too early to tell. And as I quell the urge to check on my father I am overwhelmed by the deep sadness for the loss of a man that I never met, but who was such a mainstay in the life of my young nephew and I lament at the fact that though he–PaPa was so integral in my nephew’s day to day life my nephew will grow up with probably with a vague memory of a man they refer to as his grandfather.

So I thank God that my father is with us for longer and happy that my sister is there to ensure that he is good and I say eternal rest to a very nice grandfather-PaPa that my sweet overly energetic loving nephew.

Eternal rest grant onto him oh Lord and may perpetual light shine upon him… Amen.

Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Loss of a father

  1. I am sorry to read of your nephew\’s (and family\’s) loss of his "Papa".  What you said about feeling the sting for others is so true and having lost my own father I know the hurt and grief.  We keep their memories alive with stories and pictures which help the grandchildren to feel connected and our loved ones memorialized in a good way.
     
    I just found out this past year, from my mother, that my own grandfather used to raise canaries.  He was a critter lover like I am!  Now that I am in my 50\’s my mother also told me some of the skeleton in the closet stories….lol.  She finally thought I was old enough to take it.  ;D

  2. I\’m so glad to see you *out and about* in blogland. I\’d missed hearing from you!
     
    Thanks for your kind words about my Dad passing also – It\’s wonderful to see how you fully realize the impact yours has on you and your kiddos…. so, treasure the time you have with your Dad to its fullest – we just never know when God will be calling anyone home. That sounds harsh, I don\’t mean it to be. I just am suddenly aware that taking things for granted is NOT the way.

  3. I know what you mean…I have these pangs from time to time, as I love my Daddy so much!!  He has been my lifeline so often and my rock, so when the day comes…I just can\’t even think about it!!  My father-in-law (age 84) is in poor health and I see his mortality literally before my eyes.  It is very difficult to watch.  But you just have to be thankful to every day.
     
     

  4. Oh, I hear ya!  I feel the exact same way every time I hear of someone losing a parent.  It just hurts my heart.  My parent\’s are my rock.  Saying prayers of thanks for my blessings and prayers of comfort to the families who have lost loved ones.  Take care!  -T

  5. Oh, I hear ya!  I feel the exact same way every time I hear of someone losing a parent.  It just hurts my heart.  My parent\’s are my rock.  Saying prayers of thanks for my blessings and prayers of comfort to the families who have lost loved ones.  Take care!  -T

Leave a Reply

