Wazhat! Wahzat!

God never gives you more than you can handle

5 Comments

It is strange how certain things are made clear in the simplest of situations.
Recently My husband and I were at a Family Fun Day for his old highschool. He brought one of his longtime friends over to see the twins and we three started talking.
The friends started off by saying "Well you sure have your hands full, I don’t know how you guys do it because I can barely manage two."
How old are they I ask ever the curious parent
"6 and 3" They are stressing me out with all the activities you have to run them around to. And the eldest he is constantly on the go. He had us really concerned recently he had a neurological problem recently… well his eyes did a weird constant tic, BUT the doctor says he will outgrow it, and he doesn’t do it as much anymore so maybe it is true. But for a time there it was really bothering me and stressing me out… my blood pressure is high now. And you believe my daughter has bad bow-leg but once again the doctors said she will outgrow it. But you guys have two nannies so it should be okay then!"
Of course I bristle and responded well we do have four children and think to clobber my husband because crikey we do not have 2 nannies but two helpers that reach at 9 and leave at 4:30 during the week and without that help I will never get out of my pajamas and probably never eat ’cause as it is I hardly get chance to eat with help. Or give the older two any time. Steups as we Trinidadians say!
Anyway I digress, that vent is not what I am talking about. All the while he was chatting about his high blood pressure, I couldn’t help think you are fretting about a ‘tic’. Seriously! bowed legs. Seriously! Your children are healthy energetic.. .there are worse things that they could have and you have high blood pressure over a ‘tic’.
Isnt that seriously rude and judgemental of me. Of course anything that is not ‘normal’ on a child is grounds for concern and I give myself a mental slap for thinking it.
But the conversation did make me think of all the things I had to encounter with all of our children:- social disorder, asthma, far-sightedness, hyperactivity, multi-births and with our family:- my husband’s father- stroke, cancer, incoherent speech; my husband’s mother:- high blood pressure rush to the hospital; my mother’s yet to be diagnosed rush to the hospital. Never once did our blood pressure raise or ruffle us. Of course we have freaked out in our own way and did our fair share of ostrich like hiding from issues but we have maintained health and sane minds. And it dawned on me that it was not us per se, but us as how God fashioned us that was the difference.
On going over this conversation in my head I was reminded, I will say by God, that God never gives you more than you can handle and that is why we are handling. So instead of judging I say a prayer of thanks for my hubbie’s old friend that he is getting what he can handle and may he continue through God to handle. Thank God that I believe this who knows maybe my blood pressure may be high too if I didn’t! LOL

Remember when things seem rough….. GOD NEVER GIVEs YOU MORE THAN YOU CAN HANDLE.

(wish I had the correct scripture to add to this Oh well have a great week.)

Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

5 thoughts on “God never gives you more than you can handle

  1. There is no scripture for this, my friend, because He gives us more than we can handle so that we will reach out to Him to take over! No more than we can handle with His help. If we could handle it alone we wouldn\’t need him.I am so happy that you have help. It would be insane not to take it if it is available to you..!Hope you have a great week, g

  2. You are so right G 😉

  3. He serious? Steups!!! – lol – It\’s not that you\’re being judgemental, how bad can being bowlegged be? Or how bad is that tic? Come on, he needs to come clean and tell you all the truth as to why his blood pressure is on the rise. Those kids are not the cause of that problem.

  4. Good morning,It is so true. But many of us have screamed…WHY? WHY? WHY?Then we come out on the other side…Better, wiser, more trusting, stronger in faith, and more importantly knowing our God more personally and He is control. Nothing ever catches him by surprise.Have a smooth week and you and your loved ones be well, Greg

  5. 1 Corinthians 10:13 "And God is faithful He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear.But when you are tempted, He will alsoprovide a way out so you can endure it". I hope this helps, I have a blog A Testimony God Giving Thanks. You may look at it if you like. God is our Healer. Hebrews 13:5 "He will never leave you nor forsake you" God Bless you & your family.

Leave a Reply

