Wazhat! Wahzat!

Just a diaper!

10 Comments

Forceful, willful, independent.

All words that tumble into my head as I watch the volcano of a tantrum erupt from my little girl. All because of the diaper that her sister is wearing. The diaper, an exact replica of the one that she is in.

I  smile as I remember the squeezing of  my heart as I lay on that table looking up at the screen. What did the doctor just say? I force the knot stuck in my throat down and asked her to repeat. Two little heartbeats. Two little heartbeats! The noise in my head is deafening. Almost as loud as that time of my son’s diagnosis.

Tears spill out. The great unknown was overwhelming. Was I capable? Did I have the space in my already twice crowded  heart for two more? How would the time be split amongst them? Panic reigns within my head.

All these questions still shout loud but start to give way to anticipation, excitement and joy as growth takes place in me. I wait urging them to stay in there for as long as possible.

Then they are laid beside me. Asleep. Tiny little things, much smaller than I have ever dared to hold. As I gaze at their beauty the smaller of the two opens her mouth and wails. Two seconds later so does her sister. And there is that panic again. Forgetting pain and dizzyness I lift one then get the other one as well and find that all those concerns clouding my thoughts have flittered away. All things are possible.

And here I am today laughing at a silly tantrum of which they will be many. Happy in the knowledge that “The scariest moment is always just before you start. After that, things can only get better.”

No they are not identical, but they don’t know that

Taking part in

Stephen King said, “The scariest moment is always just before you start. After that, things can only get better.”

This week we were asked to write a memoir post inspired by that statement – in 300 words or less.

Not sure if  I answered the prompt… but this is what came to mind when I read it. I am finding that I need lessons in grammar and punctuation so feel free to point out where I went wrong with either 😀

Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Just a diaper!

  1. You know what I really like about this piece? That you played with time. So many people do a straight, linear format.

    This was so much more interesting.

    And, my goodness, you make beautiful children.

  2. I agree with Nancy C above. So many stories are told in this one little blurb. And you painted a vivid picture of what it was like both before and today. You are a strong woman! We never know what we are capable of until we are forced to realize:)
    And, yes, such beautiful children:)

  3. Oh my! First, wow those are gorgeous kids!

    I also really like how you took this and made it more than just a linear blurb. Well, heck. Now I want to go rewrite mine!

    I saw one thing you might consider fixing – your entire post is in present tense, except this one sentence: “All because of the diaper that her sister was wearing.” You might consider changing that to present tense as well.

    Well done! I didn’t see any grammar or punctuation problems, so your lessons must be going well. 🙂

  4. Yes, you definitely answered the prompt and wowsa- did you ever capture change and fear and all of the beauty that comes with it.

    Kudos for the stunning words that you chose- love them! 🙂

  5. Awwww…so true the scariest moments are right before you start the unknown but truth be told they can be the most exciting moments as well.

    What a blessing to have twins that will be best friends forever with a Mom who loves them as dearly as you do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

