Wazhat! Wahzat!

The winner

4 Comments

Look at me, hands clenched, furrowed brow, shallow but steady breathing.

I am anxious …

One would think it was me running this race.

There is my baby, as cool as can be, jumping about ready for her race.

My daughter who they said would never walk, much less run, is there giddy with excitement.

I guess she never got the memo.

At last there is the starter gun.

Oh no would she be startled by it!

No, no she is fine and she is off running.

I am so excited I could cry… wait a minute what is that wet stuff on my face.

Oh my I am crying!

Go on my sweet girl you can do it! you can do it!

Am I screaming. Hahaha yes I am.

And then like an angel she gracefully crosses the finish line!

The world stops for a minute and her hands go up in the air. Victorious!

As the bubble of pride bursts through my body,

I run over to my sweet child  and grab her up into a hug.

Who cares that she was the last one to cross the line?

I certainly dont!

 

This post is completely fictional.  It is based on this  photo prompt   from Write On Edge

 

Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

4 thoughts on “The winner

  1. Brilliant response to the prompt, love how you set the pace with short sentences. 🙂

  2. The pacing is very much like actual thoughts–racing along with the child.

Leave a Reply

