Wazhat! Wahzat!

8:00 pm

11 Comments

Tick tock tick tock

One last word  and this story is done.

I watch as the minutes get closer and closer to the time of sleep.

Now I lay me down to sleep, I lead the children in a prayer.

I pray the Lord my Soul to keep

Stop that I say! kicking your sister is not allowed. Feet are for walking and not for kicking.

If I should die before I wake   Get on your pillow and say your prayers.

no no no this is not the time to be flipping through books!

Clasp your hands and close your eyes. didn’t you hear me say?

I pray the Lord my Soul to take. Who’s jumping on the bed.

God Bless Daddy, Mummy and you too.

Kisses and hugs and water for some.

With a toss and a turn, eyes heavy with sleep close down tight

And at 8pm on the dot our house is now filled with sweet little cherubs  all rosy and round lost in the land of dreams

Now it is time for the adults to play.

Well considering I am drawing a blank with my NANOWRIMO project I thought I would join in on this weeks Write on the Edge Red Writing Hood prompt. Strange trying to keep the word count down for this . This week we were asked to take them to our version of 8:00 -AM or PM, fiction or creative nonfiction- in 200 words or less.

Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

11 thoughts on “8:00 pm

  1. This is sweet… and wistful too. You transported me back to my childhood, when we would recite this prayer every night at bedtime.

  2. This is a sweet bedtime routine! And I love the ending… it is wrong for me to so look forward to the couple of hours between the kids’ bedtime and my own? Sometimes a quiet house helps to quiet my soul.

  3. Haha!! I can relate. I love the prayer/jumping/kicking part 😉

  4. the craziness of bedtime! Oh, yes I can relate. But once slumber hits…sweetness 🙂

  5. You captured the sentiment of many of my friends who are parents.

  6. “Feet are for walking and not for kicking.”

    Truth right there, and also the relief of a quiet house for a few hours.

  7. I love the back and forth between the quiet of your words and the reality of everything going on around you at bedtime.

    And the quiet of real and true slumber? Pure bliss!

    (Also- I think you did GREAT with the short word limit! You made every word count, which is perfection! :))

Leave a Reply

