Wazhat! Wahzat!

Crash

4 Comments

My insides did a waffle as I turned around to check on  my son.

With hands shaking like a leaf in the wind I reached for the door handle.

What just happened? My mind still in a fog

I know I hadn’t taken my eyes of the road. Yet still I almost missed that the car in front of me had stopped.

Fast, fast my feet jam hard on the brakes

I am so focused that I am cushioned in a bubble that buffers out all noise.

I am not breathing

The car stops.

Did I hit the car?

There was no crash. There was no screech. The tyres did not scream

Was this because of the bubble?

My son is wailing. I hear that . He is ok. I slowly exhale.

I step out of the car and say

Did my car hit your?

Taking part in RemembeRED – Flash Memoir. Take the next ten minutes to write about the first single memory that word calls up. Focus on the emotions and the experience, spend ten minutes really exploring that memory. Then wrap it up, publish, and come link up.

 

 

Author: kidfriendlyja

Exploring all activities Jamaican that our children would enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Crash

  1. How scary… especially with your son in the car. Getting in an accident with one of my kids in the car is one of my worst fears!

  2. I like the bubble–I’m assuming it is the airbag? Anyway, nice how you describe it without saying what it is. Glad everyone was okay. Car accidents are so frightening!

  3. This is some really fantastic writing. Great job!

Leave a Reply

